## FRANKLIN L. ORTH MEMORIAL TROPHY



The Franklin L. Orth Memorial Trophy, is a bronze statuette of "David", originally named the National Trophy for Public High Schools and presented by the National Board for the Promotion of Rifle Practice, War Department, in 1913. The sculptor was Adrien Gandez, who was born in Lyon, France in 1844 and died in 1902. Rededicated by NRA in 1972 in memory of Franklin L. Orth, Executive Vice President of the NRA from 1959 until his death on January 4, 1970. A sports devotee from early youth, Frank Orth stressed shooting as a form of sport and became President of the U.S. Olympic Committee.

## Match Conditions:

- 1972 Awarded to the Free Pistol Champion at the U.S. International Shooting Championships, a three day aggregate of the 60-shot slow fire course.
- 1986 Course of fire, two day aggregate.
- 1993 WITHDRAWN FROM COMPETITION
- 2000 Re-assigned and awarded to the NRA National Intercollegiate Sectional Air Rifle Team Champion. Course of fire is an aggregate comprised of sectional scores fired by four team members (40 shots x 4).
- 2005 Course of fire changed to 60 shots per team member.

## **TROPHY WINNERS**

1972 1973 1974 1975 1976 1977 1978 1979 1980 1981 1982 1983 1984 1985	SFC Hershel Anderson, USA SSGT Arnold Vitarbo, USAF SFC Hershel Anderson, USA SFC Hershel Anderson, USA SFC Hershel Anderson, USA SFC Hershel Anderson, USA PFC Darius Young, USAR SSGT Stephen Reiter, USAR SFC Charles McCowan, USA SFC Charles McCowan, USA SSGT Stephen Reiter, USAR SP4 Darius Young, USAR SSGT Eugene Ross, USAR MSGT Erich Buljung, USA D.C. Nygord D.L. Hamilton	1653 1667 1672 1670 1672 1650 1642 1634 1653 1673 1658 1676 1677	2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019	University of Kentucky University of Alaska, Fairbanks West Virginia University TCU	2351 2355 2376 2360 2380 2366 2373 2377 2379 2383 2380
1986	D.C. Nygord	1114			
1987	E. Buljung	1202			
1988	D.R. Young	1203			
1989	E. Buljung	1218			
1990	E. Buljung	1219			
1991	Ben Amonette	1211			
1992	Richard Gardner	1205			
1993	WITHDRAWN FROM COMPETITION				
2000	University of Alaska, Fairbanks	1573			
2001	University of Alaska, Fairbanks	1573			
2002	University of Alaska, Fairbanks	1574			
2003	University of Alaska, Fairbanks	1574			
2004	University of Alaska, Fairbanks Gold	1571			
2005	University of Alaska, Fairbanks	2363			
2006	U.S. Military Academy	2347			
2007 2008	University of Alaska, Fairbanks	2360 2370			
2000	University of Alaska, Fairbanks	2310			