COLT TROPHY



The Colt Trophy was presented to the NRA in 1927 by the Colt Patent Firearms Manufacturing Company. This trophy was given permanently to the high individual police office in the 1947 National Open Revolver Team Match. No Colt Trophy was offered in competition for the years 1948-50. In 1952 a new Colt Trophy was donated to the NRA by the Colt Company. This Second Colt Trophy was awarded permanently to the U.S. Border Patrol in 1958. The third Colt Trophy, the one shown, was donated to the NRA in 1959 and is awarded to the winning four person team in the NRA National Pistol Championships.

Match Conditions:

- 1927 Police pistol team match, four firing members and team Captain. All firing at 25 yards, twice over a course consisting of five shots, slow fire, one minute per shot; five shots, 20 seconds; five shots, 10 seconds with the official pistol revolver of city, county or state represented.
- 1928 Same course of fire restricted to any center fire pistol or revolver.
- 1937 The Camp Perry course of fire.
- 1947 Police team match not scheduled, trophy presented to high police officer in NRA Open Revolver Team Match fired over the National Match Course.
- 1952 The National .45 Caliber Pistol Team Championship four firing members over the National Match Course with the .45 caliber pistol or revolver.

TROPHY WINNERS

1927	Portland Police	1105	1961	USA Western Region	1164-49X
1928	Los Angeles Police	1061	1962	USA Western Region	1167-54X
1929	New York Police	1082	1963	USAF Blue	1164-39X
1930	Detroit Police	1112	1964	USMC Scarlet	1155-42X
1931	Los Angeles Police	1111	1965	USAF Blue	1161-47X
1932		NO COMPETITION	1966	USA Blue #2	1172-55X
1933	Los Angeles Police	1142	1967	USA Grey	1155-44X
1934		NO RECORDS FOUND	1968	USAF Blue	1165-43X
1935	Los Angeles Police	1134	1969	USA Int'l Blue	1165-54X
1936	Michigan State Police	1124	1970	USA Red	1162-41X
1937	Los Angeles Police	1155	1971	Georgia State Ass'n Blue	1152-51X
1938	Detroit Police	1157	1972	USA Blue	1171-60X
1939	U.S. Treasury	1162	1973	USA Blue	1182-57X
1940	Detroit Police	1167	1974	USA Blue	1157-46X
1941	U.S. Treasury	1179	1975	USAR Blue	1129-32X
1942-45		NO COMPETITION	1976	USA Blue	1159-44X
1946	Los Angeles Police	1175	1977	USA Blue	1182-57X
1947	Detroit Police	1128	1978	USA Grey	1165-45X
1948-50		NO COMPETITION	1979	USAR Gold	1158-42X
1951	USN	1146	1980	USA Blue	1156-48X
1952	USA Blue	1136	1981	USAR Blue	1166-54X
1953	USN Blue	1120	1982	USA Blue	1168-54X
1954	U.S. Border Patrol	1127	1983	ALL NG Blue	1164-46X
1955	USMC Gray	1155	1984	USA Blue	1165-51X
1956	U.S. Border Patrol Blue	1141-42X	1985	USMC Scarlet	1144-43X
1957	USA Gray	1142-35X	1986	USA Gray	1158-48X
1958	U.S. Border Patrol Blue	1142-38X	1987	Fort Worth Gold	1146-38X
1959	USMC Blue	1156-48X	1988	USMC Scarlet	1156-50X
1960	USMC Blue	1152-36X	1989	USMC Scarlet	1171-49X