MAYLEIGH CHALLENGE CUP TROPHY



The Mayleigh Challenge Cup Trophy was presented to the NRA in 1947 by Mr. G. W. Cafferata of Newark, England, on behalf of the international Pistol Team of Great Britain. It is awarded annually to the winner of the .22 caliber pistol postal competition. Competition is open to English speaking countries by invitation from the National Rifle Association of America. Countries which have participated in the past are: Australia, Canada, Great Britain, Jamaica, Rhodesia, South Africa, and the United States of America.

Match Conditions:

- 1947 A postal pistol team match open to one team of ten firing members, two alternates, a team captain and adjutant, from each nation invited to participate by the NRA of America. The team captain and adjutant may be firing members if desired. Practice and record targets are mailed to each country. Fired record targets must be returned to the NRA for official scoring. The course of fire' 5 shots on each of four Standard American 20 yard slow fire pistol targets with .22 caliber or revolver.
- 1958 Target changed to the Standard American 50 yard slow fire pistol target.
- 1964 Course of fire changed to 30 shots, slow fire. 10 shots on each of three targets.

TROPHY WINNERS

| 1947 | United States | 1828 | 1984 | Great Britain | 2829 |
|------|---------------|----------------|------|---------------|------|
| 1948 | | NO COMPETITION | 1985 | United States | 2834 |
| 1949 | United States | 1856 | 1986 | United States | 2866 |
| 1950 | | NO COMPETITION | 1987 | United States | 2853 |
| 1951 | United States | 1875 | 1988 | United States | 2850 |
| 1952 | United States | 1820 | 1989 | Canada | 2711 |
| 1953 | United States | 1845 | 1990 | United States | 2641 |
| 1954 | United States | 1813 | 1991 | United States | 2658 |
| 1955 | United States | 1830 | 1992 | United States | 2578 |
| 1956 | United States | 1838 | 1993 | Great Britain | 2530 |
| 1957 | United States | 1837 | 1994 | United States | 2594 |
| 1958 | United States | 1842 | 1995 | United States | 2637 |
| 1959 | Canada | 1847 | 1996 | United States | 2688 |
| 1960 | United States | 1856 | 1997 | United States | 2592 |
| 1961 | United States | 1887 | 1998 | United States | 2638 |
| 1962 | United States | 1884 | 1999 | United States | 2592 |
| 1963 | United States | 1896 | 2000 | United States | 2668 |
| 1964 | United States | 2857 | 2001 | United States | 2680 |
| 1965 | United States | 2834 | 2002 | United States | 2670 |
| 1966 | United States | 2850 | 2003 | United States | 2607 |
| 1967 | United States | 2865 | 2004 | United States | 2641 |
| 1968 | United States | 2840 | 2005 | United States | 2700 |
| 1969 | United States | 2837 | 2006 | United States | 2657 |
| 1970 | Great Britain | 2835 | 2007 | United States | 2630 |
| 1971 | Great Britain | 2834 | 2008 | United States | 2661 |
| 1972 | Great Britain | 2875 | 2009 | United States | 2662 |
| 1973 | United States | 2854 | 2010 | United States | 2663 |
| 1974 | Great Britain | 2837 | 2011 | United States | 2667 |
| 1975 | Australia | 2815 | 2012 | XXX | XXX |
| 1976 | United States | 2857 | 2013 | XXX | |
| 1977 | Great Britain | 2821 | 2014 | XXX | |
| 1978 | Great Britain | 2842 | 2015 | XXX | |
| 1979 | United States | 2819 | | | |
| 1980 | United States | 2843 | | | |
| 1981 | Great Britain | 2827 | | | |
| 1982 | United States | 2857 | | | |
| 1983 | United States | 2860 | | | |
| | | | | | |