APPRECIATION CUP



The Appreciation Cup was donated by the U.S. Cavalry to the NRA to be presented to the High Marine in the President's Match. The trophy was given in response to the donation in 1910 by the U.S. Marine Corps Team of the Cavalry Cup, which was to be won by the High Cavalryman in the President's Match. There is some discrepancy as to just when the Appreciation Cup--called at first the Marine Cup--was actually donated. A number of National Matches Programs from 1922 until the late 1930's indicate that the trophy was presented in 1913, but not put in competition until 1922. Other sources indicate that the trophy was presented in 1922, the first year it was presented to the High Marine.

Considerable confusion was caused by the presentation of the trophy which is now called the Appreciation Cup. Engraved upon it is the legend "The Marine Cup"; but in 1909, the officers of the USMC donated a cup which was known then as it is now as the "The Marine Corps Cup". Adding to the confusion is the original Cavalry Cup, which at first was called the "Marine's Cup", as it was the Marines who donated it. Making a bad situation even worse, the Appreciation Cup was called the Cavalry Cup as well from 1922 until 1929, when the name was changed to the Appreciation Cup, apparently to avoid the very confusion discussed above. Adding to the problem was the fact that the trophy photo in the National Matches programs from 1929 until 1935 was captioned as the "Cavalry Cup".

Match Conditions:

- 1922 The high-scoring Marine Corps competitor in the President's Match, fired during the National Matches.
- 1968-77 Trophy was not used in competition
- 1978 Two sighting shots and 20 shots for record, 200 yards rapid fire, sitting or kneeling from standing, Service Rifle or NRA Match Rifle with metallic sights.

TROPHY WINNERS

1922	PVT Raymond O. Coulter, USMC	189	1958	SGT Hayden B. Russell, Jr., USMO	147-11V
1923	2LT Pierson E. Conradt, USMC	193	1959	SGT William D. Johnston, USMC	149-12V
1924	CAPT Jacob Lienhard, USMC	188	1960	GYSGT Riley B. Neal, USMC	149-14V
1925	CPL Harry L. Nason, USMC	193	1961	WO Emmett D. Duncan, USMC	150-13V
1926	SGT John M. Thomas, USMC	196	1962	CPL David A. Luke, USMC	149-10V
1927	CPL O.J. Tobey, USMS	196	1963	SSGT Jack A. Titterington, USMC	149-13V
1928	SGT Harvey R. King, USMC	146	1964	SSGT Gregory Connor, USMC	149-10V
1929	SGT Willard Brown, USMC	145	1965	CPL F.A. Johnson, USMC	149- 9V
1930	CPL William A. Easterling, USMC	145	1966	LT E.J. Manning, USMC	149- 9V
1931	LT Raymond T. Presnell	144	1967	LT George M. Van Orden, USMC	290- 8X
1932	SGT William A. Easterling, USMC	145	1968-77		NO COMPETITION
1933	PFC George W. Walker, USMC	145	1978	CPT Sam P. Schaumann, ARNG	200-17X
1934	CPL Valentine J. Kravitz, USMC	145	1979	Arthur R. Monahan	200-13X
1935	SGT John Blakley, USMC	147	1980	Gary L. Newton	200-16X
1936	CPL Valentine J. Kravitz, USMC	147	1981	CWO Robert L. Goller, USMC	299-16X
1937	Platoon SGT Clarence J. Anderson, USMC	147	1982	Dr. John R. Mance	200-12X
1938	Platoon SGT Edward V. Seeser, USMC	146	1983	SGT Samuel C. Chapping, ARNG	200-14X
1939	MGYSGT Thomas J. Jones, USMC	147	1984	Richard M. Egolf	200-14X
1940	SGT Donald R. Rusk, USMC	145	1985	CPT Michael E. Liberty, ARNG	200-15X
1941-50	NO COMF	PETITION	1986	MAJ Edward L. Schumacher, USA	200-16X
1951	TSGT Morris Owens, USMC	145-11V	1987	CWO Kenneth R. Cooper, USMC	200-15X
1952	MSGT Ralph C. Cox, USMC	149-17V	1988	Patrick M. McCann	200-14X
1953	TSGT James A. Zahm, USMC	149-13V	1989	LTCOL Walter H. Smith, USMCR	200-17X
1954	1LT Clifford G. Tryon, USMC	145- 9V	1990	SGT Denis W. DeMille, USMC	200-15X
1955	SGT Emmett D. Duncan, USMC	150-16V	1991	G. David Tubb	200-15X
1956	MSGT Virgil Miller, USMC	149-22V	1992	SGT Denis W. Demille, USMC	200-16X
1957	SSGT Michael Pietroforte, USMC	145-15V	1993	Robert A. Gustin	200-17X

1994	Randall R. Gregory	200-14X
1995	COL Walter H. Smith, USCMR	200-16X
1996	LTC Christopher J. Stark, USAR	200-16X
1997	SGT Lewis A. Tippie, USA	200-15X
1998	GYSGT Kevin R. Kistler, USMC	200-14X
1999	SSGT Richard S. Threatt, USMC	200-15X
2000	CWO Dennis DeMille, USMC	200-16X
2001	John A. Harrison	200-17X
2002	G. David Tubb	200-17X
2003	SSGT Kevin Worrell, USMC	200-16X
2004	Christopher A. Wyatt	200-16X
2005	Kent D. Roach	200-15X
2006	SGM Steven J. Slee, USA	200-15X
2007	Cancelled due to	o weather
2008	Ryan L. Castonguay	200-15X
2009	Carl R. Bernosky	200-17X
2010	Carl R. Bernosky	200-15X
2011	Carl R. Bernosky	200-18X
2012	SGT John Coggshall, USA	200-16X
2013	Mark E. Laramie	200-11X
2014	XXXXXXXXXXXX	XXXXXX
2015	Sara B. Rozanski	200-16X
2016	SGT Nick Mowrer, USAR	200-16X
2017	Cancelled due to	weather
2018	SGT Benjamin L. Cleland, USA REG	200-19X
2019	SGT Eric W. Smith, USA RES	200-16X
2020	National Matches cancelled due to COVID	
2021	SSG Cody A. Shields USA N/G	200-16X
2022	SFC Brandon Keith Green, USA REG	200-16X