## WHISTLER BOY TROPHY (Smallbore)



The Whistler Boy Trophies, formerly known as the Hughes Trophies, are identical bronze statuettes mounted on maple pedestals. They were donated to NRA in 1931 by Grover A. Hughes of Youngstown, OH, for annual Junior Smallbore Rifle competition in the NRA Instructor-Junior School at Camp Perry during the National Matches. Bronze plates on trophy bases originally showed Division A to be for the 12-14 age group and Division B for the 15-18 age shooters.

## Match Conditions:

- 1931 An aggregate of 70 shots; 40 sitting, 20 kneeling and 10 standing.
- 1940 An aggregate of 110 shots; 50 prone, 30 sitting, 20 kneeling and 10 standing.
- 1956 Awarded each group in two different Junior and Tyro School. An aggregate of 40 shots at 50 yards; 10 prone, 10 sitting, 10 kneeling and 10 standing.
- 1959 Five shots in each of four positions at 50 yards.
- 1962 Ten shots prone and 10 sitting at 50 yards.
- 1963 Taken out of competition.
- 1978 Awarded to the winning Two-Member Junior State Association Team in the Hughes Trophy Junior State Association High Power Rifle Team Match of 10 shots slow fire, standing, 200 yards; 10 shots 200 yards, rapid fire sitting or kneeling from standing, 10 shots, 300 yards rapid fire prone from standing, 20 shots, 600 yards, slow fire prone.
- 1980 One of the pair awarded to the winning Whistler Boy Two-Member Junior State Association Team in the Smallbore Rifle Competition of a Dewar Match and a 60 shot 3-Position match (20 shots each; prone, standing and kneeling) each competitor. Possible team score of 2000. (Targets: A-23, A-25 and A-51).
- 1989 Conditions changed to allow Junior Club, as well as, Junior State Association Teams. (Targets: A-23, A-25 and A-51).
- 1990 As above but change Dewar targets to Metric A-51 and A-33.

## **TROPHY WINNERS**

			1962	John E. Doyle - Division A	192-6X
1931	Robert Hughes - Division A	1328		Kathy Kinsello - Division B	186-2X
	Roger Hughes - Division B	1232	1963-79	•	NO COMPETITION
1932-39		NO COMPETITION	1980	Texas State Ass'n	1892-59X
1940	Anna Lou Ballew - Division A	1058	1981	Oregon State Ass'n Gold	1870-N/A
	Thomas Cronk - Division B	1022	1982	Oregon State Ass'n	1863-36X
1941-55		NO COMPETITION	1983	Pennsylvania State Ass'n	1838-24X
1956	Sally Lou Littleton - Division A	366	1984	New York State R&P Ass'n	1839-34X
	Diane Orton - Division A	302	1985	Montana Whistler Boy Team	1605-16X
	Lee Bull, Jr Division B	341	1986	Texas State Rifle Ass'n Gold	1819-35X
	Glen Paulson - Division B	328	1987	Arvada Table Mountain Lynx	1872-55X
1957	Richard Hanville - Division A	355	1988	New Hampshire State Gold	1862-45X
	R.A. Bondie - Division A	318	1989	California R&P Ass'n	1856-57X
	Diane Orton - Division B	344	1990	Texas State Ass'n	1771-31X
	Lee Bull, Jr Division B	328	1991	Nebraska State Jr	1808-35X
1958	Wallace Lyman - Division A	355	1992	Boulder Rifle Club	1767-40X
	Keith Evans - Division A	360	1993	Colorado State Shooting Ass'n	1816-35X
	Michael Costell - Division B	362	1994	Texas State Rifle Ass'n	1822-45X
	Mary Kaan - Division B	358	1995	Texas State Rifle Ass'n Gold	1793-36X
1959	Richard E. May - Division A	181	1996	Quantico Juniors Rifle Team	1801-28X
	Gregg Hall - Division B	180	1997	Texas State Rifle Gold	1740-30X
1960	Michael Beckmeyer - Division A	180	1998	New Mexico Gold	1745-25X
	William Iman - Division B	183	1999	Vermont Platinum	1825-36X
1961	L.D. Culbert - Division A	184	2000	Vermont Platinum	1817-41X
	William H. Rogers - Division B	183	2001	Arizona Gold	1803-36X

2002	Nashua F & G Platinum	1670-30X
2003	Cheshire County F & G Gold	1833-40X
2004	Gun Owners of New Hampshire	1833-36X
2005	Frazier Simplex Gold	1842-35X
2006	Panthers	1839-37X
2007	CSRRA Gold	1860-48X
2008	Alexandria Junior Rifle	1871-67X
2009	Alexandria Junior Rifle Gold	1867-47X
2010	TSR Gold	1905-71X
2011	Alexandria Jr Rifle Gold	1877-52XX
2012	Palmyra Green	1883-61XX
2013	Palmyra Jr. Rifle Team Green	1984-133X
2014	CSRRA Gold	1978-117X
2015	ISRA – Blue	1987-118X
2016	Pennsylvania Rifle & Pistol Association	1982-97X
2017	Illinois State Rifle Association – Gold	1971-91X
*2018	NO COMPETITIONS	
2019	NO COMPETITION	
2020	National Matches cancelled due to COVI	D
2021	NO COMPETITION	

<sup>\*</sup>Shortened due to weather