WESTERN CARTRIDGE COMPANY TROPHY



The Western Cartridge Company Trophy, referred to as the "Marksman Trophy" is a silver cup which was donated to the NRA in1923 by the Western Cartridge Company.

Match Conditions:

- 1923 Competition between two teams of eight firing members, captain and coach. Teams were selected for geographical location of shooters' residence; one team of shooters, residing East of the Mississippi River and one from those West of this river. Each competitor firing 15 shots at each range, 150, 175, and 200 yards on the C-5 target.
- 1928 10 shots per team member at 50, 100, and 200 yards.

1929 30 shots per team member at 200 yards.

1934 An individual match of 20 shots at 50 and 100 yards and 10 shots at 100 yards.

1937 Dewar Course with any sights.

- 1951 Winner of the National Sharpshooter Aggregate of 40 shots at each range, 50 yards, 50 meters, 100 yards, and Dewar Course, for both any and metallic sights.
- 1952 High scoring woman competitor in the National Conventional Prone Any Sight Aggregate of 40 shots at each range, 50 yards, 50 meters, 100 yards, and Dewar Course.
- 1955 Any Sight aggregate of 80 shots at each range, 50 yards, 50 meters, 100 yards and two Dewar Course Matches.

1961 Any Sight aggregate of 50 shots at each range, 50 yards, 50 meters, 100 yards and Dewar Course.

- 1966 Any Sight aggregate of 80 shots at each range, 50 yards, 50 meters, 100 yards and two Dewar Course Matches.
- 1971 The high scoring woman competitor in the 320 shot course as fired in 1955 (1952). Conventional Prone Any Sight Woman Champion.

2009-2015, 2017-2019

50 yard matches not fired.

TROPHY WINNERS

1923	West Team	1754	1952	Margaret J. Davis		1595- 92X
1924	West Team	1740	1953	Lorraine Vanderwende		1597-128X
1925	East Team	1750	1954	Elinor Bell		1598-119X
1926		NO COMPETITION	1955	Viola E. Pollum		3197-257X
1927	West Team	1783	1956	Winifred A. Carr		3190-220X
1928	West Team	2243	1957	Bertie Moore		3191-248X
1929	East Team	2294	1958	Barbara Winton		3192-246X
1930	West Team	2302	1959	Lenore M. Jensen		3192-229X
1931	West Team	2265	1960	Marianne J. Driver		3189-231X
1932		NO COMPETITION	1961	Lee Sonsteng		1596-102X
1933	East Team	1559	1962	Inez Sargent		1597-123X
1934	R.E. Louden	492	1963	Marianne J. Driver		1587-104X
1935	Edward Kent	497	1964	Marianne J. Driver		1595- 99X
1936	Fred Johansen	499	1965	A. Virginia Williams		1596-104X
1937	M. Grosskopf	400	1966	Marianne M. Jensen		3193-228X
1938	H.D. Allyn	400	1967	Inez Sargent		3198-257X
1939	A.O. Franz	400-32X	1968-70		NO CO	MPETITION
1940	E.M. Kell	400-35X	1971	Janet S. Hays		3188-227X
1941	Ray E. Louden	400-30X	1972	Mary Lou Adler		3196-250X
1942-45		NO COMPETITION	1973	Mary E. Stidworthy		3195-253X
1946	Lawrence A. Wilkens	399	1974	Mary E. Stidworthy		3198-281X
1947	J.H. Gleason	400-34X	1975	Schuyler Helbing		3200-298X
1948-50		NO COMPETITION	1976	PVT Mary E. Stidworthy, A		3199-278X
1951	H.D. Brueggemann	3158-176X	1977	PVT Mary E. Stidworthy, A	AZARNG	3200-286X

1978	SP4 Mary E. Stidworthy, AZARNG	3197-260X
1979	SP5 Mary E. Stidworthy, AZARNG	3198-278X
1980	SP5 Mary E. Stidworthy, AZARNG	3199-294X
1981	SP5 Mary E. Stidworthy, AZARNG	3199-286X
1982	Mary E. Stidworthy	3198-285X
1983	SP5 Suzanne Mitchell, USAR	*2400-195X
1983	Carolyn D. Millard	3199-281X
1985	Denneen L. Peterson	3197-243X
1985	Carolyn D. Millard	3196-248X
1980	J	3199-275X
1987	Gwendolyn H. Fox	3199-275X 3198-274X
	Edie P. Reynolds	
1989	Carolyn D. Millard-Sparks	3195-268X
1990	Carolyn D. Millard-Sparks	3197-269X
1991	Carolyn D. Millard-Sparks	3189-237X
1992	Mary E. Sparling	*2799-232X
1993	Carolyn D. Millard-Sparks	3187-222X
1994	Carolyn D. Millard-Sparks	3199-272X
1995	Carolyn D. Millard-Sparks	3199-248X
1996	Carolyn D. Millard-Sparks	3195-270X
1997	Carolyn D. Millard-Sparks	3199-285X
1998	Marianne Vitito	3198-229X
1999	Carolyn D. Millard-Sparks	3199-285X
2000	Carolyn D. Millard-Sparks	3198-279X
2001	Cynthia L. Estep	3187-217X
2002	Edie P. Reynolds	3192-252X
2003	Carolyn D. Millard-Sparks	3199-270X
2004	Carolyn D. Millard-Sparks	3200-290X
2005	Martha C. Kelley	3197-272X
2006	Martha C. Kelley	3195-242X
2007	Martha C. Kelley	3197-255X
2008	Reya Kempley	3190-242X
2009	Reya Kempley	2400-207X
2010	Alyssa S. Gestl	2391-153X
2011	Nancy Tompkins	2400-200X
2012	Reya L. Kempley	2400-199X
2013	Amanda McMullin	2395-189X
2014	Michelle Bohren	2399-184X
2015	Kaitlyn Kutz	2398-182X
2016	Removed from competition	
2017	Removed from competition	
2018	Removed from competition	
2019	Removed from competition	
2020	National Matches cancelled due to C	
2021	Virginia T. McLemore	3197-248X
2022	Michele K. Medige	3195-250X

*Shortened due to weather.