ROUMANIAN TROPHY



The Roumanian Trophy is a large (about 18" high), ornate silver trophy. The trophy, manufactured in France, was presented to the winning American Expeditionary Force rifle team at the Inter-Allied Rifle and Pistol Competitions in Le Mans, France, in 1919. The Roumanian government, for which the trophy is named, requested that it be used for competition among teams representing the various United States armed forces. In 1921, General John Pershing presented the trophy to the NRA with the request that teams representing the United States Army, Navy, and Marine Corps compete for the cup every year.

This trophy is awarded annually. in the NRA High Power Long Range Championship team matches.

Match Conditions:

- 1921 Competitions between teams of six firing members, one alternate, Team Captain and Coach from each of the following: U.S. Infantry, U.S. Cavalry, U.S. Engineers, U.S. Marine Corps, U.S. Coast Guard, National Guard of each of the several states, territories and the District of Columbia. 15 shots, 200 yards, standing, plus 15 shots, 600 yards, prone, with the Service Rifle and Service ammunition.
- 1928 Course of fire reduced to ten shots per firing member at each distance, with the Service Rifle and any ammunition.
- 1937 Teams of six firing members, 10 shots slow fire prone at 600 yards, and 10 shots slow fire prone at 1000 yards.
- 1940 Teams of 10 firing members.
- 1954 Teams of four firing members, Team Captain and Coach from any NRA affiliated organization. 10 shots per firing member prone at each range, 600 and 1000 yards, with either the Service Rifle or the NRA Match Rifle.
- 1961 Teams of six firing members.
- 1966 Teams of four firing members.
- 1967 Teams of six firing members. Targets used at 600 yards have a maximum value of 5 and a center "V" ring; targets at 1000 yards have a high value of 10 and a center "X".
- 1977 Teams of four firing members, 20 shots per firing member at 1000 yards, slow fire, prone. Any rifle with metallic sights may be used. The Romanian Trophy is awarded to the highest team regardless of entry in "A" or "B" category.

TROPHY WINNERS

1921	US Infantry	824	1955	USMC	390-35V
1922	USMC	849	1956	USA	395-41V
1923	US Infantry	855	1957	USA	397-52V
1924	US Engineers	832	1958	USMC	396-50V
1925	US Infantry	848	1959	USA	397-49V
1926	USMC	844	1960	USA	400-68V
1927	US Cavalry	845	1961	USA	594-82V
1928	US Infantry	569	1962-65	NO COMPETITION	
1929	US Infantry	559	1966	USA	399-64V
1930	USMC	554	1967	USA Drake	879-51V's+X's
1931	American Legion	561	1968		NO COMPETITION
1932	USCG	565	1969	USAMU Nainoa	865-53V's+X's
1933	USCG A Team	568	1970-76	NO COMPETITION	
1934	USMC #2	562	1977	USMC Durbin	746-19X
1935	USMC	572	1978	USMC Waugaman	777-27X
1936	US Infantry	571	1979	Vermont State	786-19X
1937	USMCR	574	1980	Pennsylvania State Gold	767-17X
1938	USMCR	576	1981	USMC Riddle	780-33X
1939	USMCR	585	1982	USAMU Gold	784-24X
1940	US Infantry	976	1983	USMC Waugaman	767-20X
1941-53	-	NO COMPETITION	1984	Hardholders Blue	791-34X
1954	USMCR #1	385-41V	1985	USA Silvis	780-34X

1986	USA Batt	771-24X
1987	USA Gold	769-21X
1988	USA Black	786-31X
1989	USMC Santiago	786-23X
1990	Hardholders Blue	778-26X
1991	USAR Bach	788-34X
1992	Accuracy Associates	774-25X
1993	Ohio R&P Ass'n Bob Wright	784-34X
1994	Accuracy Associates	785-26X
1995	USAMU #2	786-30X
1996	Hardholders Blue	788-26X
1997	USAMU Dooley	768-19X
1998	Hardholders Blue	793-44X
1999	ASRPA Hardholder Family	785-35X
2000	Arizona R & P HP Div.Purple	795-35X
2001	ASRPA Family	790-33X
2002	ASRPA Family	786-28X
2003	ASRPA Family	788-42X
2004	ASRPA Family	792-40X
2005	USAMU Praslick	799-43X
2006	Team Sierra Tompkins	789-33X
2007	USAMU Praslick	794-50X
2008	USAMU Praslick	785-30X
2009	USAMU Praslick	793-42X
2010	US National-Rasmussen, Bachand	785-30X
2011	CANCELLED DUE TO W	EATHER
2012	USAMU Praslick	796-55X
2013	USAMU Praslick	796-40X
2014	Southeast Rifle Gray	786-30X
2015	USAMU Praslick	794-44X
2016	ORSA Gold	791-30X
2017	Highway 6	785-26X
2018	ARC-Rowe	788-32X
2019	Southeast Rifle Club	791-33X
2020	National Matches cancelled due to COVID	
2021	USNRT Gold Friguglietti	798-31X
2022	USAMU Cleland	798-49X