## UNITED SERVICE MATCH TROPHY



The United Service Match Trophy was presented in 1911 to the National Rifle Association for annual competition by Colonel R. M. Thompson of the class of 1868, United States Naval Academy.

## Match Conditions:

- 1911 20-member teams representing each of the armed services and the organized militia. Each member fired 10 shots rapid fire at 200 yards, 10 shots slow fire at 600 yards, 10 shots slow fire at 1000 yards and 20 shots in the "skirmish run". The skirmish run includes two shots at 600 yards in 30 seconds, two shots at 500 yards in 30 seconds, three shots at 400 yards in 30 seconds, three shots at 350 yards in 30 seconds, five shots at 300 yards in 30 seconds and five shots at 200 yards in 20 seconds. The shooter must recharge his magazine after his first shot at 400 yards. The shooter is presented with two targets at each range and may take his choice of the "prone man" worth 5 points, or the "kneeling man" worth 4 points. He may choose to shoot from the prone, sitting or kneeling position.
- 1915 The course of fire as before with the deletion of the skirmish run.
- 1916 The course of fire as before but for a 16-member team firing 20 shots at each stage.
- 1918 16-member team each firing 10 shots rapid fire sitting at 200 yards, 10 shots rapid fire prone at 300 yards, 20 shots slow fire prone at 500 yards and 20 shots slow fire prone at 600 yards.
- 1920 16-member team each firing 20 shots rapid fire sitting at 200 yards, 20 shots slow fire prone at 600 yards and 20 shots slow fire prone at 1000 yards.
- 1921 16-member team each firing 10 shots slow fire standing at 200 yards, 10 shots rapid fire sitting at 200 yards, 10 shots rapid fire prone at 300 yards, 20 shots slow fire prone at 600 yards and 20 shots slow fire prone at 1000 yards.
- 1922 The course of fire as in 1921 but only 10 shots at 600 yards.
- 1928 A "paper" team aggregate of the individual scores in the NRA Rapid Fire Championship and the President's Match fired by the 20 highest-scoring competitors from each of the following: Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Coast Guard, National Guard and civilians
- 1929 As in 1928, but using scores from the President's Match only.
- 1930 A "paper" team aggregate of the individual scores in the President's Match fired by the high 20 competitors from each of the following: U.S. Services, National Guard, civilian, including ROTC, CMTC and civilian members of the American Legion.
- 1971 An aggregate of the matches constituting the NRA National Championship. Awarded to the high Regular Service competitor in the High Power Rifle Service Rifle Championships.

## TROPHY WINNERS

1911	USN	4263	1926		NO COMPETITION
1912		NO COMPETITION	1927	USMC	4529
1913	USA	4404	1928	USMC	4664
1914		NO COMPETITION	1929	USMC	2843
1915	NG	2228	1930	US Services Team	2846
1916	USMC	4320	1931-70	NO COMPETITION	
1917		NO COMPETITION	1971	CWO Robert L. Goller, USMC	1549-52X
1918	USMC	4292	1972	SFC Martin D. Edmondson, USA	1574-52X
1919	USMC	4374	1973	SSGT Arpail J. Gapol, USA	1564-47X
1920	USA	4447	1974	GYSGT Daniel Sanchez, USMC	1568-46X
1921	USMC	5262	1975	SFC Earl L. Waterman, Jr., USA	1579-70X
1922	USMC	4489	1976	SFC William R. Lee, USA	1980-96X
1923	USMC	4532	1977	CWO David I. Boyd II, USMC	1960-65X
1924	USMC	no record	1978	MSGT William R. Lee, USA	2367-108X
1925	USMC	4451	1979	MAJ George M. Van Orden, USM	1C 2352-85X

1980	CWO Robert L. Goller, USMC	2363-95X
1981	CWO David I. Boyd II, USMC	2369-73X
1982	1LT David B. Erickson, USA	2358-70X
1983	SGT Greg A. Strom, USA	2351-78X
1984	1LT David B. Erickson, USA	2369-98X
1985	CPL Thomas B. Gilbert, USMC	2359-97X
1986	SFC John R. Mann, USA	2365-88X
1987	SSGT Greg A. Strom, USA	2356-79X
1988	SSGT James H. Cook, USMC	2365-98X
1989	SGT Vincent M. Greiner, USA	2361-94X
1990	SGT Eric A. Uptagrafft, USA	2363-94X
1991	SP4 Lance S. Hopper, USA	2357-82X
1992	SGT Billy W. Williamson, USMC	2369-105X
1993	GYSGT Frank L. Murphy, USMC	2369-82X
1994	SFC Kenneth V. Gill, USA	2356-82X
1995	SPC Tobie L. Tomlinson, USA	2360-87X
1996	SGT Grant L. Singley, USA	2367-95X
1997	SGT Barry L. Coleman, USA	2369-94X
1998	SSG Grant L. Singley, USA	2372-112X
1999	SSGT Julia A. Watson, USMC	2361-110x
2000	SFC Grant L. Singley, USA	2366-109X
2001	SFC Grant L. Singley, USA	2371-109X
2002	SFC Kevin McMahon, USA	2333-90X
2003	CWO Dennis Demille, USMC	2372-102X
2004	SSGT Jerome W. Bostick, USMC	2350-78X
2005	SPC Brandon K. Green, USA	2365-96X
2006	SFC Lance S. Hopper, USA	2366-114X
2007	SFC Kyle A. Ward, USA	*1760-54X
2008	SPC Tyrel L. Cooper, USA	2362-101X
2009	SFC Grant L. Singley, USA	2385-102X
2010	SSG Tyrel L. Cooper, USA	2377-108X
2011	SSG Tyrel L. Cooper, USA	2376-111X
2012	SSG Tyrel L. Cooper, USA	2377-105X
2013	SSG Tyrel L. Cooper, USA	2380-105X
2014	SPC Lee Bahten, USA	1770-64X
2015	SGT Lee Bahten. USA	2370-116X
2016	SGT Augusts K. Dunfey, USA	2368-103X
2017	SFC Shane Barnhart, USA REG	1978-74X
2018	MSG Justin Skaret, USMC RES	2359-95X
2019	TSGT Ryan Karrar, USAF REG	2269-44X
2020	National Matches cancelled due to	
2021	SSG Erin M. McNeil, USA REG	2378-115X
2022	SSG Amanda Elsenboss, USA RE	G 2370-117X

<sup>\*</sup> Aggregate shortened due to weather