NORTH AMERICAN TROPHY



The North American Trophy is a bronze statuette by Herman Atkins MacNeil (1866-1947), a well-known sculpture in his time. The bronze is apparently a study for one of the figures in MacNeil's large sculpture, "The Coming of the White Man," completed in 1905 for the Portland, OR, city park. The trophy was first presented to the Association of American International Riflemen by its president, Brigadier General Bird W. Spencer, for annual competition. The trophy, then known as the North America Trophy, was offered for team competition to all the nations of the world using their respective military rifles.

As fired at Sea Girt in 1919, the course of fire for the eight

member teams included 15 shots prone at the 200, 600, 900 and 1200 yard distances. Custody of the trophy was transferred to the NRA sometime in the 1920's, and now is awarded annually in the NRA National High Power Championships.

Match Conditions:

1969 Awarded to the high-scoring Junior competitor in the NRA National High Power Match Rifle Championships.

Trophy Winners

1969	Luc J. Lessard	1504-44X	2002	Robin Maly	2315-72X
1970	G. David Tubb	1530-58X	2003	Scott D. Roberts	2362-105X
1971	G. David Tubb	1549-43X	2004	Calvin G. Roberts	2350-95X
1972	G. David Tubb	1553-42X	2005	Justin L. Barry	2243-41X
1973	G. David Tubb	1560-53X	2006	Eryk R. Grycza	2169-37X
1974	Gary E. Tubb	1554-52X	2007		No Competition
1975	Randy S. Ciavarelli	1537-39X	2008	Insufficient Entries	
1976	Randy S. Ciaverelli	1947-67X	2009	Insufficient Entries	
1977	Randy S. Ciavarelli	1940-60X	2010	Insufficient Entries	
1978	Nancy H. Clark	2289-61X	2011	Dalton L. Burbach	2309-59X
1979	Mark R. Liebetrau	2311-54X	2012	Insufficient Entries	
1980	Mark R. Liebetrau	2346-77X	2013	Waylon R. Burbach	2331-77X
1981	Mark R. Liebetrau	2355-80X	2014	Waylon R. Burbach	1747-51X
1982	Christopher J. Vesy	2321-60X	2015	Waylon R. Burbach	2336-101X
1983	Christopher J. Vesy	2348-88X	2016	Insufficient Entries	
1984	Lee W. Sailor	2347-92X	2017	Luke Rettmer	1929-63X
1985	Christopher J. Vesy	2351-70X	2018	Insufficient Entries	
1986	Christopher J. Vesy	2361-84X	2019	Insufficient Entries	
1987	Clifton R. Haars	2314-57X	2020	National Matches cancelle	d due to COVID
1988	Jeff M. Gerbitz	2348-71X	2021	Insufficient Entries	
1989	Eric J. Obermeyer	2330-63X	2022	Thomas McGowan	2370-113X
1990	John C. Andres, Jr.	2345-64X			
1991	Eric J. Obermeyer	2328-68X			
1992	James J. Kallenbach	2338-74X			
1993	James J. Kallenbach	2276-58X			
1994	Neil A. Piasecki	2211-42X			
1995	Travis W. McCoy	2283-52X			
1996	Michael S. McGee	2299-64X			
1997	Taylor Tubb	2319-68X			
1998	Garrett Tubb	2302-53X			
1999	Taylor Tubb	2304-54X			
2000	Adam J. Bester	2330-78X			
2001	Adam J. Bester	2344-84X			