NEVADA TROPHY



The Nevada Trophy is composite medal containing four joined medallions suspended by a ribbon from a top piece which represents the upper hemisphere of a globe surmounted by an eagle. The entire assembly is about 3 3/4 inches wide by 7 1/2 inches in height. In 1962, the trophy was laminated in a plastic block and mounted on a wooden base. The trophy is gold and silver and was given by the citizens of the State of Nevada at a cost of \$500 in 1875 to the "Army and Naval Journal" to be offered for rifle competition. From 1875 to 1894 it was used in Regular Army competition of Company and Battery level. The trophy was revived through the courtesy of Colonel William Church in 1909 at the Sea Girt, NJ, matches and was used as the award for an individual long range match until 1928 when it was withdrawn from competition. Custody of the Nevada Trophy was turned over to the NRA by GEN W.S. Price, President of the New Jersey State Rifle Association in 1954.

Match Conditions:

- 1954 Competition between two teams of four firing members, two alternates, Team Captain and Coach. 10 shots, slow fire, 200 yards, standing position and 10 shots, rapid fire, 200 yards, sitting or kneeling from standing and 10 shots rapid fire, 300 yards prone from standing per firing members with NRA Match Rifle.
- 1955 Course of fire as above, with either the Service or NRA Match Rifle.
- 1958 20 shots, 200 yards, slow fire, standing position; 20 shots, 200 yards, rapid fire, standing to sitting or kneeling per firing member.
- 1959 10 shots, 200 yards, slow fire, standing position; 20 shots, 200 yards, rapid fire, standing to sitting or kneeling per firing member.
- 1962 An individual fired match of the National High Power Rifle Championship aggregate consisting of 10 shots, 200 yards, rapid fire, sitting or kneeling from standing; 10 shots, 300 yards, rapid fire, prone from standing; 10 shots, 600 yards slow fire prone with Service Rifle of NRA Match Rifle.
- 1968 An aggregate of Navy Cup, Coast Guard Trophy, Marine Corps Cup and Air Force Cup matches.

TROPHY WINNERS

1954	USA Red	587-52V	1980	Carl R. Bernosky	792-43X
1955	USA #I	576-43V	1981	Carl R. Bernosky	793-44X
1956	USMC #2 Grey	584-70V	1982	Patrick M. McCann	793-31X
1957	USA Red	585-47V	5983 47V	Patrick M. McCann	790-44X
1958	USA #15	782-50V	1984	Patrick M. McCann	797-46X
1959	USA #13	516-46V	1985	G. David Tubb	791-37X
1960	USA Grey	595-46V	1986	CPT David B. Erickson, USA	795-32X
1961	USAR Pacific Blue	892-60V	1987	Gary L. Anderson	789-31X
1962	SGT Sanford R. Coggins, USA	150-18V	1988	G. David Tubb, TX	796-45X
1963	SFC A.B. Falcon, USA	150-21V	1989	G. David Tubb, TX	794-38X
1964	A1/C A.E. Frascoia, USAF	150-19V	1990	G. David Tubb, TX	795-28X
1965	SSGT H.A. Andujar, USA	150-21V	1991	G. David Tubb, TX	791-34X
1966	SP4 P.L. Matte, USA	150-20V	1992	Carl R. Bernosky	795-33X
1967	George Mendiburu	298-9X	1993	G. David Tubb	796-31X
1968	GYSGT Robert Goller, USMC	781-22X	1994	Gary E. Rasmussen	788-26X
1969	Earl H. Burton	774-20X	1995	Mitchell R. Maxberry	792-39X
1970	Middleton W. Tompkins	779-30X	1996	Middleton Tompkins	793-39X
1971	Gary L. Anderson	789-36X	1997	Thomas J. Whitaker	794-43X
1972	CWO Donice R. Bartlet, USMC	794-29X	1998	Thomas J. Whitaker	796-45X
1973	Ronald G. Troyer	785-29X	1999	Mike Bell	791-30X
1974	GYSGT Daniel Sanchez, USMC	786-30X	2000	Carl R. Bernosky	796-45X
1975	Gary L. Anderson	787-35X	2001	SFC Grant L. Singley, USA	793-40X
1976	Gary L. Anderson	993-53X	2002	G. David Tubb	778-28X
1977	William J. Stratmann	990-40X	2003	Norman G. Houle	795-35X
1978	SSGT Roger A. Sayward, ARNG	793-30X	2004	David Tubb	792-38X
1979	Carl R. Bernosky	794-32X	2005	Dennis W. DeMille	798-39X

2006	Troy A. Lawton	792-29X
2007	Carl R. Bernosky	*598-28X
2008	Carl R. Bernosky	799-47X
2009	Carl R. Bernosky	797-38X
2010	SGT Sherri J. Gallagher, USA	798-57X
2011	Carl R. Bernosky	798-42X
2012	SGT Sherri J. Gallagher, USA	798-51X
2013	SSG Shane Barnhart, USA	800-42X
2014	Mark E. Laramie	797-32X
2015	SFC Brandon Green, USA	792-43X
2016	Norman G. Houle	796-46X
2017	SGT Benjamin L. Cleland	597-35X
2018	SFC Brandon Keith Green, USA	800-50X
2019	Ronald L. Zerr	795-41X
2020	National Matches cancelled due to COVID	
2021	SSG John Coggshall, USA N/G	794-49X
2022	SSG Benjamin Cleland, USA REG	798-52X

* Aggregate shortened due to weather