RUMBOLD TROPHY



The Rumbold Trophy is a unique four-footed punch bowl. The bowl, hand-hammered of solid silver from silver dollars, is surmounted on opposite sides of its rim by two crouching figures of American Indians, one an early eastern tribesman and the other an early western. The trophy was donated to the NRA in 1910 by Brigadier General Frank M. Rumbold, Adjutant General of Missouri, for presentation to the winning team in the Championship Regimental Team Match fired in the National Matches. In 1937, the match for this trophy was first called the "Rumbold Trophy Match" and opened to teams from any NRA-affiliated organization.

Match Conditions:

- 1910 Competition in the Championship Regimental Team Match between teams of six firing members, Team Captain and Coach. 10 shots per firing member, 200 yards, standing, and 600 yards prone with the Service Rifle. Teams to represent regimental units of the U.S. Services and the National Guard.
- 1919 20 shots per firing member, at 200, 500 and 1000 yards.
- 1920 10 shots per firing member, 200 yards rapid fire and 600 yards slow fire prone.
- 1938 Teams of 10 firing members. 10 shots per firing member at 600 yards.
- 1952 Teams of four firing members. 20 shots per firing member at 600 yards.
- 1954 Teams of six firing members, Team Captain and Coach.
- 1969 Same teams as above, but with either the Service Rifle or the NRA Match Rifle.
- 1973 Four member firing team, Team Captain and Coach.
- 1978 Four member civilian teams. Course of fire is the National Match Course, 10 shots, 200 yards, slow fire, standing; 10 shots, 200 yards, rapid fire, sitting or kneeling from standing; 10 shots, 300 yards, rapid fire, prone from standing; 20 shots, 600 yards, slow fire, prone.

TROPHY WINNERS

1910	6th Inf. Reg., MA	831	1937	American Legion Blue	568
1911	2nd TX Inf.	808	1938	California Civ.	566
1912	1st Inf. DC NG	754	1939	Pennsylvania Civ.	571
1913	5th Inf. MA NG	832	1940	California Civ.	943
1914		NO COMPETITION	1941-51		NO COMPETITION
1915	1st Reg. MN NG	815	1952	USMC #5	383-35V
1916	1st IA Inf.	809	1953	USMC #4	381-39V
1917-18		NO COMPETITION	1954	USA Blue	575-58V
1919	6th Reg., USMC	1614	1955	USMC Blue	580-55V
1920	1st Phillipine Inf.	572	1956	USA Grey	561-38V
1921	5th Reg., USMC	553	1957	USMC Blue	585-67V
1922	DC NG	529	1958	USMC Blue	591-73V
1923	2nd US Inf.	550	1959	USA #5	584-51V
1924	USS Colorado Team	533	1960	USA Blue	596-71V
1925	5th Reg., USMC	560	1961	USMC	590-78V
1926	5th Reg., USMC	511	1962	USA Europe	591-75V
1927	1st Reg., USMC	574	1963	USA Western Blue	590-64V
1928	1st Reg., USMC	573	1964	USA Eastern Tarheels	586-60V
1929	1st Reg., USMC	553	1965	USA Western Gold	595-82V
1930	13th US Eng.	555	1966	USMC Smith	594-69V
1931	WA NG	563	1967	USAF Barnard	1164-40X
1932	4th U.S. Inf.	557	1968	USN Blue	1160-35X
1933	USCG, Boston	567	1969	Hardholders	1175-53X
1934	OR NG	560	1970	California State	1159-36X
1935	USCG	563	1971	California State Blue	1171-43X
1936	5th Reg., USMC	570	1972	California State Gold	1174-50X

1973	California State Blue	795-36X
1974	California State	789-24X
1975	California State Blue	787-33X
1976	Hardholders	788-28X
1977	Hardholders	793-44X
1978	Pennsylvania State Gold	1942-69X
1979	Hardholders	1970-78X
1980	Pennsylvania State Gold	1970-75X
1981	Hardholders Blue	1970-77X
1982	Hardholders East	1966-74X
1983	Hardholders Blue	1968-90X
1984	Hardholders Blue	1970-88X
1985	Ohio Gold	1952-60X
1986	DePere Litchholders	1180-43X*
1987	Ohio Gold	1947-70X
1988	North Star Rifle Club Green	1971-64X
1989	Hardholders Gold	1957-65X
1990	Winneguah Gold	1958-75X
1991	Hardholders Blue	1958-72X
1992	Hardholders Blue	1954-65X
1993	Hardholders Blue	1981-87X
1994	Winnequah Gold	1961-79X
1995	Winnequah Gold	1930-60X
1996	Ohio-PA Rifle Team	1972-65X
1997	Hardholders Club	1973-96X
1998	Hardholders Blue	1969-88X
1999	Ganello's II	1961-80X
2000	Illinois State Rifle Assn.Gold	1945-58X
2001	Winnequah Gold	1963-76X
2002	Richards Associates Remily	1971-72X
2003	Richards Associates Remily	1960-62X
2004	Colorado Blue Sky	1973-62X
2005	Richards Associates Moore	1972-77X
2006	Semino	1961-71X
2007	Richards Associates	1969-83X
2008	Semino Gold	1963-76X
2009	Semino	1948-67X
2010	Semino Gold	1961-69X
2011	PA PRPA	1948-59X
2012	Illinois State Gold	1955-58X
2012	Richards Associates	1961-76X
2014	Keystone Accuracy	1964-73X
2014		1967-82X
	Remington Reade Roxburgh	
2016	Texas State Rifle Association	1948-65X
2017	Illinois State Gold	1959-59X
2018	Illinois State Gold	1967-82X
2019	Illinois State Gold	1941-56X
2020	National Matches cancelled due to C	OVID
2021	Illinois State Gold	1966-69X
2022	Illinois State Gold	1954-69X
		.00.00/

^{*}Shortened due to weather.