SPORTS AFIELD TROPHY



The Sports Afield Trophy was presented by SPORTS AFIELD magazine to the Open Winner of the NRA National High Power Rifle Silhouette Championship in 1974. These Championships were held for the first time in 1973 and the trophy was awarded retroactively to that year's National Champion. Constructed with a base of burled California walnut, the Sports Afield Trophy depicts the desert-and-mountain terrain of the Southwest, where silhouette shooting began in the United States. The walnut and design were obtained by Edward "Pete" Brown of SPORTS AFIELD, with the woodworking and placement of figures by Edward D. Andrus of the NRA staff.

Match Conditions:

2008

2009

Agustin Sanchez, Jr

Laura R. Goetsch

- 1973 Aggregate of two times over the Mexican National High Power Course (10 shots each at chickens at 200M; turkeys at 385M; and rams at 500M) and once over the U.S. National Match Silhouette Course (10 shots each at chickens, turkeys and rams with the addition of 10 shots at javelina at 300M).
- 1975 Changed to 120-shot aggregate of three times over the U.S. Club Match Silhouette Course.

TROPHY WINNERS

97x120 98x120 *64x80 100x120 93x120 97x120 84x120 101x120

	TROPHY WINNERS				
1973	Robert D. Campbell	60x100	2010	Enrique Kuess, Jr	
1974	William E. Berkley	57x100	2011	Angelica Kuess Davila	
1975	Alvaro S. Frescas	65x120	2012	Angelica Kuess Davila	
1976	MAJ Lones W. Wigger, Jr., USA	*66x110	2013	Enrique Kuess, Jr	
1977	William E. Berkley	77x120	2014	Gabriel Villarreal	
1978	George Simon	88x120	2015	Cathy Winstead-Severin	
1979	LTC Lones W. Wigger, Jr., USA	74x120	2016	Enrique Kuess, Jr.	
1980	Earl Hines	83x120	2017	Cathy Winstead-Severin	
1981	Marguerite Everheart	94x120	2018	David Bonner	
1982	Dennis Martinen	*69x100			
1983	Marguerite Everheart	81x120			
1984	James F. Feren	79x120	*Shorte	*Shortened due to weather.	
1985	Marguerite Everheart-Hazey	96x120			
1986	Conard H. Bernhardt	98x120			
1987	G. David Tubb	109x120			
1988	G. David Tubb	76x120			
1989	G. David Tubb	97x120			
1990	G. David Tubb	110x120			
1991	G. David Tubb	103x120			
1992	G. David Tubb	107x120			
1993	G. David Tubb	99x120			
1994	Marco Barriga	98x120			
1995	Pedro A. Rueda, Jr.	103X120			
1996	Marco Barriga	101x120			
1997	Antonio Lopez	83x120			
1998	Jose A. Benavente	99x120			
1999	Lee O'Neil	97x120			
2000	Edgardo Ontiveros	96x120			
2001	Tim Kurreck	93x120			
2002	Antonio Lopez	92x120			
2003	Derek R. Greenaway	109x120			
2004	Agustin Sanchez, Jr	101x120			
2005	Agustin Sanchez, Jr	111x120			
2006	Agustin Sanchez, Jr	108x120			
2007	Agustin Sanchez, Jr	104x120			

107x120

92x120