RWS TROPHY



The RWS Challenge Trophy was originally provided for an international postal match among the teams from the United States, Great Britain and Germany. The trophy takes its name from the German name of the donor, Rheinische-Westfalischen-Sprengstoff. In 1939 it was re-designated as an individual award and now is awarded to the Intermediate Senior Champion in the NRA National Smallbore Conventional 3-Position National Championships.

Match Conditions:

4000

- 1933 Teams of ten men, 40 shots per man at 50 meters on the international 50 meter smallbore target, five minutes for each series of five shots, any smallbore rifle using .22 caliber rimfire cartridges, metallic, sights, all prone shooting.
- 1939 Re-designated for the American RWS Match for individual competition. Course of fire 40 shots at 50 meters, prone, metallic sights.
- 1981 Re-designated for the Men's Air Pistol Champion in the NRA United States International Shooting Championships. Course of fire 60 shots Air Pistol.
- 1994-97 Withdrawn from competition.

United States

1998 Re-designated for the Intermediate Senior Champion 3-Position in Outdoor at the NRA National Smallbore Conventional Championships. The course of fire is 240 shots - 40 shots prone, standing and kneeling with metallic sights and any sights.

2025

2008 Target changed to the NRA A-23 target.

TROPHY WINNERS

0000

John C. Funk

0475

1933	United States	3935	2003	John C. Funk	2175
1934	United States	3971	2004	Howard Q. Moody	2072
1935	United States	3950	2005	Steven R. Kern	2144
1936	United States	3952	2006	Steven R. Kern	2219
1937	United States	3961	2007	John C. Funk	2120
1938	United States	3953	2008	Steven R. Kern	2356-128X
1939	Merle Israelson	400	2009	Steven R. Kem	2326-84X
1940	E.R. Hughes	398	2010	Steven R. Kern	2315-95X
1941-80	NO COMPETITION		2011	William F. Beard	2326-121X
1981	Donald Nygord	1732	2012	William D. Burkert	2213-76X
1982	Eric Buljung	1727	2013	William D. Burkert	2327-98X
1983	Darius Young	1740	2014	Michael O'Connor	2364-133X
1984	Darius Young	1733	2015	Jeffrey Doerschler	2363-128X
1985	Donald Nygord	1743	2016	John M. O'Connor	2354-132X
1986	Ben Amonette	1156	2017	Jeffrey Doerschler	2352-107X
1987	Eric Buljung	1246	2018	John M. O'Connor	2350-140X
1988	Eric Buljung	1260.9	2019	Paula Lambertz	2312-94X
1989	Eric Buljung	1271.4	2020	National Matches canceled due to COVID	
1990	Donald Nygord	1246.3	2021	Yuberka Nouel	2329-96X
1991	Donald Nygord	1251.3	2022	Insufficient Entries	
1992	Ben Amonette	1260.1			
1993	Richard Gardner	686.8			
1994-97	NO COMPETITION				
1998	David J. Cramer	2226			
1999	David J. Cramer	2225			
2000	Howard Q. Moody	2149			
2001	Jay A. Sonneborn	2115			
2002	Harold Rocketto	2176			