THE SHAFFER TROPHY



The Shaffer Trophy is an engraved single shot 7.7mm Schuetzen Rifle made in Germany early 1900. The Rifle was donated by LTC C.J. Shaffer, a former NRA Competition Division Staff Manager, Director of Civilian Marksmanship and Executive Officer at Camp Perry while with the Army.

This trophy is awarded to the high scoring individual in the NRA Black Powder Position Target Rifle Championships.

Match Conditions:

1998 Twice over the course of: Ten shots standing at 200 yards, 10 shots sitting w/cross sticks at 300 yards and 10 shots prone w/cross sticks at 600 yards with a single shot, black powder cartridge rifle with period sights.

TROPHY WINNERS

4000	T11-3-	500 OV
1998	Tony Heitz	533-6X
1999	Buddy Visser	541-7X
2000	Robert Bloyer	533-4X
2001	Harold Itchkawich	526-8X
2002	Perry A. Lewis	525-5X
2003	Rick Moritz	543-9X
2004	Al Sledge	549-8X
2005	Chip Mate	541-7X
2006	Evon Ahmer	554-7X
2007	Chip Mate	554-11X
2008	Chip Mate	537-4X
2009	Chip Mate	545-6X
2010	Evon Ahmer	555-7X
2011	Rick Moritz	539-8X
2012	Chip Mate	552-10X
2013	Rick Moritz	549-14X
2014	Dave Gullo	547-11X
2015	Mark Schuenke	551-5X