MIT TROPHY



The MIT Trophy was donated by the MIT Pistol and Rifle Club in 1981 and awarded to the Free Pistol Individual Champion at the NRA Intercollegiate Pistol Championships. It has a three-tiered black painted walnut base which elevates a free pistol shooter in lucite block. The block is cornered with four pillars and topped with another black painted walnut block. On top of this sits a silver plated bowl with a pewter eagle.

Match Conditions:

1981 Champion of the Free Pistol Individual event with 60 shots at 50 feet indoors

1989 Fired at 50 meters.

1990 Fired at 50 meters to include a finals match.

1995 Fired at 50 feet.

1998 Fired at 50 meters.

TROPHY WINNERS

1981	Brent Oydna	523	1997	John Bickar	634.6
	U.S. Naval Academy			University of Virginia	(543+91.6)
1982	Steven Kent	*529	1998	Jake Bursack	624
	U.S. Military Academy			U.S. Military Academy	(533+91)
	Duncan Hughes	*530	1999	Chris Colson	614.3
	MIT (Co-Holder)			U.S. Naval Academy	(523+91.3)
1983	Mike Marby	526	2000	Paul Zelenak	617
	Univiversity of Texas-Arlington			The Ohio State University	
1984	Stuart Munsch	537	2001	Paul Zelenak	624.5
	U.S. Naval Academy			The Ohio State University	
1985	Stuart Munsch	541	2002	James Diefenderfer	520
	U.S. Naval Academy			U.S. Naval Academy	
1986	Richard Shelton	521	2003	Geoffrey Newton	615.9
	U.S. Military Academy			Citadel	
1987	Gino Celia	524	2004	Daniel Krumbein	534
	U.S. Naval Academy			U.S. Naval Academy	
1988	Robert Welch	522	2005	David Schannon	524
	The Ohio State University			MIT	
1989	Denny Guinn	543	2006	David Bennett	620.7
	Galludet University			U.S. Naval Academy	(530+90.7)
1990	Daryl Szarenski	613	2007	Kyle Nagao	609
	Tenn Tech University	(524+89)		University of Clif, Irvine	
1991	James Marsh	618	2008	Seth Berglee	621
	U.S. Naval Academy	(537+81)		The Ohio State University	
1992	Chris Alvarez	630	2009	Brian Vickers	605.6
	U.S. Naval Academy	(543+87)		U.S. Air Force Academy	(516 + 89.6)
1993	Chris Alvarez	630	2010	Nick Mowrer	634.1
	U.S. Naval Academy	(542+88)		Pikes Peak Community College	(538 + 96.1)
1994	David Vondrak	629.6	2011	Nick Mower	550
	USAF Academy	(538+91.6)		Pikes Peak Community College	(642.00)
1995	Matthew Horr	606	2012	Nick Mowrer	651.6
	U.S. Naval Academy	(519+84)		Pikes Peak Community College	
1996	Michael Douglass	621	2013	Czerda Frank	615.20
	Marquette University	(540+81)		U.S. Naval Academy	(521 + 94.2)

2014	Czerda Frank	602.1
	U.S. Naval Academy	(511 + 91.1)
2015	Wyatt Brown	626.9
	University of Utah	(534 + 92.9)
2016	Alana Townsend	618.50
	North Dakota State Univ.	(525 + 93.5)
2017	Anthony McCollum	625.00
		(532 + 93.0)
2018	Helen Oh	629.60
	USCGA	(541 + 88.60)
2019	Samuel Gens	618.20
	Ohio State University	(533 + 85.2)

^{*} Reason for different scores was because of an ineligible individual at the Nationals causing the qualifying score of Mr. Hughes to end up just below the cut-off. When the error was eventually found, it was determined that the score Mr. Hughes fired at the Nationals (initially for team score only) would be eligible for trophy honors.